Pomegranate Cottage – A Poem

Sophisticate mysteries of love, golden
little deceits breathed beautiful
in an effortless wind.
Move.

Move me.

Move me through the lingering aromas
of the Pomegranate
Cottage. Infuse me by the
pretty starlit pools. I am at the edge of our
desperation
retreating from this world of bliss and lies.

The asylum of our youth keeps me. A
memory. A mid-

September kiss
in the grove when our opulence
was still assumed. And now has age provided
me nothing except a
remorseful insight? Look out
over this…

over this creation. God’s only strength resides solely in
our ignorance. We are simply
the merry
and the damned.

6 thoughts on “Pomegranate Cottage – A Poem

  1. the comments directed at someone “off-stage” give this an immediate and urgent tone. the title and the idea of a “pomegranate cottage” unleash all kinds of images for me. and i really like the closure and thought of the final stanza.

    • Wow! I am so sorry for the late reply to your comment! I have not been logged into WordPress for a while, and I did not see the notifications. Thank you so much for the kind words. I am very glad you enjoyed the poem! The comments are directed to someone off stage, though I had written it with the vision that it was all in the narrators mind, where he or she was unable or unwilling to vocalize them.

  2. Excellent… When I read the title, I could not avoid thinking of Persephone and Hades…
    After Hades abducted her and took her to the Underworld, her mother Demeter tried to find her everywhere and failed in her attempts… Until Zeus showed up and told Hades to release her… Hades agreed to release her, but gave her a pomegranate.
    When she ate the pomegranate seeds, she was bound to him for one part of the year, either the dry Mediterranean summer, when plant life is threatened by drought, or the autumn and winter…. Best wishes. Aquileana 😉

    • Thank you! I had not thought of the tale of Persephone when writing the poem, but I do like the how the image of the pomegranate in the piece relates to the myth you relate. An interesting insight that I appreciate very much. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

