Listening to the Acorns Fall – A Poem

 

Listening to the Acorns Fall

How
brave
we seem beneath
the grand
design
of our barbarism.

Light
clings and crawls
in
fractured golden
fields
reminding us of a spring
we shared
that
never
took place. Mirth absorbs
the
cosmos and leaves
us
breathless.

Listening to the acorns
fall
on the dry earth
we
decipher a new
map
of the fertile mind
and
esteem
monstrous platitudes. A
heritage
out of synch
with
its soul
dependent
on
promises of
a
blissful
wasteland.

13 thoughts on “Listening to the Acorns Fall – A Poem

  1. Joseph, I think your new poem is splendid. The short lines bothered me some but I’m not about to quibble about it. Really succinct and full of energy and thought. >KB

    • I am not too much a fan of short lines either, but sometimes, as is the case when I wrote this piece, feel the format fits. Thank you for the comment and complement KB. And as well for the honest critique. All are always appreciated!

    • Of course! Anytime. And, me not being one who often posts with pictures, should you want to accompany it with one is fine, and I will leave it to your more expertise discretion as to its selection should you choose to do so. Thank you KB.

  2. Reblogged this on The Mirror Obscura and commented:
    Joseph A. Carlucci is a poet I have known since almost my first days on WordPress and is an excellent poet . I felt this needed to be shared with my readers. Please direct your “Likes and Comments to his site, Please! >KB

  3. What I love about your poetry is that it makes me want to read them again and again, because it manifests itself in a new images each time. I enjoy reading them out loud to myself. This one felt like it was pulling at two opposite poles of life—barbarism and happiness, in a world where it seems odd to have both at the same time.

    • Thank you Hala! I cannot think of a better complement for a writer than to be told that your work makes a reader want to read it “again and again”. It is very kind of you. I like your interpreation, and wrote the piece with that in mind, trying to create a sense of opposing forces, though were one was overpowering the other. On my mind at the time was creativity vs commericalism, though I don’t think the piece is limited to this, nor know how much of this thought came through.

Leave a Reply

