Red Bodices are Popular on Valentine’s Day – A Poem

Red Bodices are Popular on Valentine’s Day

She is outside following the duck
tracks in the snow.
A break in the ice might portend
an unhappy end.
“They like spring better, you know,”
she informs me.
“Who doesn’t,” I reply.

I am attracted to her imaginative
ponderings
the simple way she can describe
dandelion nightmares
dancing in Columbia.
“They float along the African
Trade Wind
gathering in gutters and springing
from cracks in the sidewalks.”

It is a cold February.
A month I hate due to its singular nature.
But she is alive in boots and heavy
coat and I am infected
by the sheer amazement of her existence
and my own guilt ridden doubt.

“They say red bodices are popular
on Valentine’s Day.
That there is a spike in sales.
Do you believe that?
It is ridiculously clever
if true
though I don’t
personally
put any faith in it.”

And as a man who has given up faith
altogether
I can only acquiesce to her
assessment.

She picks up handfuls of snow
and tosses them
in the air.
And they flurry busily
all about
until they are blown away
as she is blown away
by a breeze
like dandelions
on an African Trade Wind.

I reach down into myself and
take stock at my own worthlessness.
Left alone and
pointlessly looking back
at duck tracks
left
in the snow.

4 thoughts on “Red Bodices are Popular on Valentine’s Day – A Poem

Leave a Reply

