Etc. – A Poem

Etc.

You say etcetera as if
it were poison.
The flood gates are open
and steel birds fly
from your mouth.

What time is it?
Three? I have not had
a drink for two hours.

To the kitchen, my love,
I venture forth
to wake the gin,
or the wine;
whichever is more willing.

I shouldn’t have fallen asleep
on the couch. It makes one
unprepared for
dragons.

I took Frankie to the park.
He liked the swing and
the slide. I was fond
to let the woodchips
pass through
my hand.

Stacy was there, yes.
I told her I was working
undercover.
A statement not too far
from true.

Write? You’re right.
I don’t write.
I clip syllables together.
Cut and paste job,
really.

Oh, I want to kiss your lips.
Taste the venom.

What apothecary fed you
my dear Juliet.
Oh, that would be Romeo
would it?
Well, you are the Shakespeare
aficionado.

Regardless, dig your dagger
with its ravishing
gilded hilt
into me, love,
a happily, unwilling sheath.

3 thoughts on “Etc. – A Poem

  1. Josep, this is a perfect example of the way it comes off free wheeling,. In your poetry things move fast, facts and faces appear ,fade. Snippets of inconclusive information. The reader becomes so attentive because they don’t know what’s important, and what isn’t. I might say that in some ways it is the antithesis of my work, not that you don’t work at it, you make it look like it is life really happening. My pieces a slices of peoples lives, freeze frames. I think ot is an interesting thing.>KB

    • Hi KB. Thanks for the comment! I would agree, for the most part, in what you say with the exception of the reader not knowing what is important and what isn’t. Generally, I would say that whatever I have included in the poem is important on one level or another. I do keep things vague, to a point, when writing poetry to allow more freedom for the reader to approach the piece from their own preconceptions and interpretations. Mainly I am trying to capture a scene, an emotion, an idea, and strip it to its essence. For example in this poem (as well as Paradise Fades) I kept the gender of the narrator purposely open so that it can be viewed though both perspectives. My poetry is quite a departure from my prose, which is very controlled and detailed. It would be an interesting exercise to see how I might have written Etc. in prose… Anyway, this is getting a little long, but I just want to close in saying I can see how we differ in our approach to writing, and am glad that you can appreciate my style just as I do yours.

Leave a Reply

