Don’t Talk to Me About Kerouac – A Poem

Don’t talk to me about Kerouac
religious complications
poet lost in
storefront display
simple elegant dress
chopped and stapled
Audrey Hepburn?
nihilistic sunglasses glow

that’s where I put the pills
secret coat pocket

man imagined
gods perfected image
a mannequin dance
a rack of towels maybe?

Porter Street Blues
totally irrelevant show
laugh and spit
Netherworld tap water
$1.50 a liter

Chester is a good fellow
little plastic dog
yelling
Don’t talk to me about Kerouac
DON’T TALK TO ME ABOUT KEROUAC
rollick and freeze
chilly breeze
I prefer my Hemingway straight

21 thoughts on “Don’t Talk to Me About Kerouac – A Poem

    • Thank you! And you got the quote right. I love Hemingway. Still need to read more of him, but he is a brilliant writer. I think I will go pick up one of his books from the library this week. He also said that famous quote of there is nothing to being a writer, just sit at a typewriter and bleed. And his short story contest. Don’t get me wrong, though, Kerouac was great too.

    • Thanks! I read the poem in your link. Interesting take. I liked Kerouac when I was younger, first reading him in my teens somewhere, I think, and still like him today, though what I like has, of course, changed in some ways.

Leave a Reply

